Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Moderator: AdminGroup

Jim
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 21:38
Been thanked: 1 time

Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby Jim » Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:22

Just wondering if anyone else has had this experience, I have a Gunfighter with the Modern grip.

aklambda
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2017 0:28
Has thanked: 40 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby aklambda » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:28

What seems to be the problem? It helps if you give us some information on your troubles.

Jim
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 21:38
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby Jim » Wed Oct 09, 2019 18:07

VKB gunfighter joystick with the Modern Combat grip doesn't recognize more than 2 triggers in the Fire Group panel. What this means is I can only have a column A and B with 1 system chosen in each, any more than that and the stick doesn't recognize them. I'm not using any software with the stick, the only other game related program running is Voice Attack for a few other commands.

User avatar
ddrake1984
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 8:36
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby ddrake1984 » Wed Oct 09, 2019 23:42

E:D has a limitation on only supporting primary and secondary fire in the fire groups, this isn't a limitation of the grip, but a limitation of the game itself.

rtrski
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 0:20
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 60 times

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby rtrski » Wed Oct 09, 2019 23:58

Agreed. You need other buttons mapped to switch forward or backward through your fire groups
RH: VKB on GF Mk II (B) + Modern Combat Grip Pro (Dec 2017 US 1st batch)
LH: VKB on GF Mk II (B) + Kosmosima Premium (Spring 2019 US 1st batch), mounted *laterally* as throttle replacement
Feet: Slaw Viper RX Pedals [Sorry, VKB, too gorgeous to pass up]

Jim
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 21:38
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby Jim » Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:14

That's not the issue, I can scroll through the fire groups w/out a problem. It's using the triggers to activate anything assigned outside of the first 2 trigger assignments. Example, in group A I have lasers on trigger one and I may have discovery scanner on trigger 2, if I assign anything else outside that fire group the trigger defaults back to the first assignment. This means I have no more than 2 items available at a maximum of 2 fire groups (trigger 1 in one group and trigger 2 in the other). In short, the trigger is defaulting to the first assignment regardless of the fire group activated.

FlyingPingu
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2019 10:09

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby FlyingPingu » Thu Oct 10, 2019 14:46

Seems to be a ED update bug and not a gunfighter problem.

Jim
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 21:38
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby Jim » Thu Oct 10, 2019 17:42

Except I'm the only one infected with said bug.

User avatar
ddrake1984
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 8:36
Has thanked: 82 times
Been thanked: 92 times

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby ddrake1984 » Fri Oct 11, 2019 14:26

tbh, I couldn't understand the issue - if you could explain it a different way, I might be able to offer some assistance.

rtrski
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 0:20
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 60 times

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Postby rtrski » Sun Oct 13, 2019 17:55

Ditto; I can't understand either.

OP/Jim: If it helps, here's a mapping sheet - populate it with your mapping and pass it back...maybe we can make other suggestions? As currently filled in it's pretty close to my latest choices. I only have the ability to roll one way thru firegroups because I decided going both was unnecessary, as even in a T10 equipped as a kitchen-sink-explorer with everything I could think I might want, I don't tend to have more than 4 firegroups max anyway.

https://1drv.ms/p/s!AuHD2NL7qn3w3gxZVfB ... x?e=Wd1SLo

You may note I have primary and secondary fire on different hands, not trigger1/trigger2, because its impossible to press "trigger2" without pressing "trigger1" first. I don't know if that could be involved in your issue in any way. Almost sounds like you accidentally have some entirely different command also bound to trigger1 or 2 that's messing with your mind...? The 'superposition' of controls in Elite is a bit of a pain, in terms of which one might override another in various contexts, and took me a long time to straighten out myself. That, and there are a few circumstances where the MCG does seem to throw random commands, although mostly reported from the very first batch like I have (and manageable) ...not truly random as it's always center-presses on the various 4-way hats that seem to get inadvertently triggered, when it does happen.
RH: VKB on GF Mk II (B) + Modern Combat Grip Pro (Dec 2017 US 1st batch)
LH: VKB on GF Mk II (B) + Kosmosima Premium (Spring 2019 US 1st batch), mounted *laterally* as throttle replacement
Feet: Slaw Viper RX Pedals [Sorry, VKB, too gorgeous to pass up]


Return to “General discussions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest