MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Moderator: AdminGroup

heloguy
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:39
Has thanked: 2 times

MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby heloguy » Wed Jan 10, 2018 16:42

Hi,

I've seen this post, and have a basic understanding of how this works for the brake lever, but just wanted to ask if the other axes on the grip can be switched to buttons the same way.

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=2868

Basically, I'd like to switch the Gate control, and Master Mode axes to strictly 4-way buttons.

Also, can the Master Mode push-in switch be a button only, or is it hard coded to be a switch between axes and buttons?

Thanks.
Alienware R7
I7 8700k
Nvidia GTX 1080ti
32gb RAM
Windows 10 x64
GF MK1 w/MCG-Pro(Fixed Wing), GF MKII w/MCG Pro(Rotary Wing), T-Rudders MkIV
Samsung Odyssey

RecklessPrudence
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 18:11
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby RecklessPrudence » Wed Jan 10, 2018 16:53

You can do it, using the axes-to-button functionality, and setting up the second hat. At least, theoretically you can, I'm having problems doing it myself - can't get it to switch to hat mode, but that's me wanting it as both a hat and a thumbstick, switchable. Pure hat might be easier. And you can change the press functionality to be a button, you just need to go into the Buttons part of Profile and change the relevant parts - one of the cells on the Physical buttons part is probably a medium gray, instead of a white - that's the press for the top hat/stick, you can change it to just be a button. The press for the left hat/stick is the cell immediately to the left of that one.

heloguy
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:39
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby heloguy » Wed Jan 10, 2018 18:34

Cool thanks I’ll definitely give that a shot I appreciate the reply.
Alienware R7
I7 8700k
Nvidia GTX 1080ti
32gb RAM
Windows 10 x64
GF MK1 w/MCG-Pro(Fixed Wing), GF MKII w/MCG Pro(Rotary Wing), T-Rudders MkIV
Samsung Odyssey

heloguy
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:39
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby heloguy » Thu Jan 11, 2018 16:32

So I just tried making the master mode push a button, which worked fine, but I noticed that now the Master Mode does not function as a POV hat in VKBDevConfig. I confirmed this by firing up DCS, and wasn't getting a response in game. Any ideas? I'm going to keep messing around and see if I can fix it (I saved the MCG Pro profile before I started).
Alienware R7
I7 8700k
Nvidia GTX 1080ti
32gb RAM
Windows 10 x64
GF MK1 w/MCG-Pro(Fixed Wing), GF MKII w/MCG Pro(Rotary Wing), T-Rudders MkIV
Samsung Odyssey

heloguy
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 6:39
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby heloguy » Thu Jan 11, 2018 16:45

Nevermind, figured it out. I just followed the post, set it to generic, and everything is doing what I want it to do. Thanks again for the help.
Alienware R7
I7 8700k
Nvidia GTX 1080ti
32gb RAM
Windows 10 x64
GF MK1 w/MCG-Pro(Fixed Wing), GF MKII w/MCG Pro(Rotary Wing), T-Rudders MkIV
Samsung Odyssey

RecklessPrudence
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 18:11
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby RecklessPrudence » Thu Jan 11, 2018 16:47

No prob, glad it all worked for you!

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 429
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 107 times
Been thanked: 179 times

Re: MCG-Pro: all hat axes as buttons

Postby AeroGator » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:58

The new FW has just been released, hurry to get it boys before others do!
(see Announcements section)
And tell me how it works.
Best Regards,
AeroGator


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests