Page 1 of 1

Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 7:22
by Jim
Just wondering if anyone else has had this experience, I have a Gunfighter with the Modern grip.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:28
by aklambda
What seems to be the problem? It helps if you give us some information on your troubles.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 18:07
by Jim
VKB gunfighter joystick with the Modern Combat grip doesn't recognize more than 2 triggers in the Fire Group panel. What this means is I can only have a column A and B with 1 system chosen in each, any more than that and the stick doesn't recognize them. I'm not using any software with the stick, the only other game related program running is Voice Attack for a few other commands.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 23:42
by ddrake1984
E:D has a limitation on only supporting primary and secondary fire in the fire groups, this isn't a limitation of the grip, but a limitation of the game itself.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 23:58
by rtrski
Agreed. You need other buttons mapped to switch forward or backward through your fire groups

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 3:14
by Jim
That's not the issue, I can scroll through the fire groups w/out a problem. It's using the triggers to activate anything assigned outside of the first 2 trigger assignments. Example, in group A I have lasers on trigger one and I may have discovery scanner on trigger 2, if I assign anything else outside that fire group the trigger defaults back to the first assignment. This means I have no more than 2 items available at a maximum of 2 fire groups (trigger 1 in one group and trigger 2 in the other). In short, the trigger is defaulting to the first assignment regardless of the fire group activated.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 14:46
by FlyingPingu
Seems to be a ED update bug and not a gunfighter problem.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Thu Oct 10, 2019 17:42
by Jim
Except I'm the only one infected with said bug.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2019 14:26
by ddrake1984
tbh, I couldn't understand the issue - if you could explain it a different way, I might be able to offer some assistance.

Re: Problems with Elite Dangerous firegroups.

Posted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 17:55
by rtrski
Ditto; I can't understand either.

OP/Jim: If it helps, here's a mapping sheet - populate it with your mapping and pass it back...maybe we can make other suggestions? As currently filled in it's pretty close to my latest choices. I only have the ability to roll one way thru firegroups because I decided going both was unnecessary, as even in a T10 equipped as a kitchen-sink-explorer with everything I could think I might want, I don't tend to have more than 4 firegroups max anyway.

https://1drv.ms/p/s!AuHD2NL7qn3w3gxZVfB ... x?e=Wd1SLo

You may note I have primary and secondary fire on different hands, not trigger1/trigger2, because its impossible to press "trigger2" without pressing "trigger1" first. I don't know if that could be involved in your issue in any way. Almost sounds like you accidentally have some entirely different command also bound to trigger1 or 2 that's messing with your mind...? The 'superposition' of controls in Elite is a bit of a pain, in terms of which one might override another in various contexts, and took me a long time to straighten out myself. That, and there are a few circumstances where the MCG does seem to throw random commands, although mostly reported from the very first batch like I have (and manageable) ...not truly random as it's always center-presses on the various 4-way hats that seem to get inadvertently triggered, when it does happen.