How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Moderator: AdminGroup

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 205 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby AeroGator » Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:43

david_wi wrote:What I do with important posts is copy them and make a Word file kept in the same folder where the VKBDevCfg-C and Wizzo files are placed.
Give it a name like How to... and keep it for future needs

David we're collecting the knowledge base like this, too. But I've no illusion: no one is going to read it; why bother reading if it is faster and easier to start a new topic and ask. We're seriously considering creating such an extended HowTo and WhatTheFu^k thing and simply ignoring any questions that had been answered there.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

david_wi
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:38
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby david_wi » Mon Jan 15, 2018 16:53

You are absolutely right and I just added my private Word files(DOCX)
Attachments
Untitled.jpg

Snacko
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 0:24
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby Snacko » Wed Jun 06, 2018 0:17

RecklessPrudence wrote:A much easier way of doing this is to use the 'AxesToButton' functionality. Go to axis 8, set it to Edges1, Zone 1, set it to a percentage point that you're comfortable with (ie 25% will press the button when you've pulled the brake lever three-quarters of the way, 0% will press the button only when the lever is pulled completely to the end of its travel), and set it to an unused button. Remember to click the checkbox in the top left to enable the AxesToButton content you customised. Et voila! You have a button! If you are really set on not using the analogue axis of the brake, you can go to the Logical Axes tab and hide the axis. Don't disable it, that will stop your button from working - just hide it from the HID. Tada! You now have a button that activates when you pull the brake, and no analogue axis to confuse your game.

The bonus of this is that you can leave the stick on MCG mode, rather than setting it to Generic as shown up there.


Thanks, that first post didn't work at all. Too bad the OP never posted again to help us make it work..

But your solution worked fine. I'm glad you were here to help!! Thanks!!

I also tried this method to make the POV Hat 4 buttons. It is currently Axis 5 & 6. (I thought it should be 6 & 7 logically, and that threw me for a while..). So, I made the A2B axis 5 & 6 Edges2 with 2 zones and it works! Thanks again!!! :mrgreen:

dburne
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2018 14:11
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby dburne » Mon Sep 03, 2018 22:34

Thank you so much, this worked a treat and very easy to do!!
I came to the forums to see if I could find out how to add a button to my brake lever, and found this post and thread.
Worked great! Plus I can still leave it as axis also for the sims I need it for.

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:43

When I press the brake lever button 34, the light goes out on the test screen and comes on when I let go of it.
On the button mapping wizard screen, there is a red light on when the lever is not pressed in beside the "Input #34 (reg#5 Line#2) section at the top.

Seems as though it is inverted. How can I change that? I followed the steps posted.

Thanks

Ron61
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 23:56
Location: г.Минск
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby Ron61 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:32

Better show a screenshot of the settings from the configurator. Tabs Profile-Buttons, Axes2Buttons.

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 17:35

VKB settings.jpg


Below it is showing the red light on the config wizard with the lever not depressed.
VKB settings 2.jpg

Ron61
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 23:56
Location: г.Минск
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby Ron61 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 19:00

Take screenshots with the Alt key held down - only the active window, not the entire desktop.

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 22:16

These pictures are taken with the brake lever in its released position.

vkb settings.jpg
vkb2.jpg
vkb3.jpg

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 22:18

Continued

vkb4.jpg
vkb5.jpg

Ron61
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 23:56
Location: г.Минск
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby Ron61 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 23:07

I found a configuration error. To fix it, you can go 2 ways.
1. Use the Default button and then calibrate all axes, including the flip-up trigger.
2. In the External tab, correct the values to the correct ones, as in the picture.
It is better to use the first.

3.jpg

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 7:43

Thanks for the help.
I followed the first way you mentioned and now it not operating the NWS at all. I will try doing the steps to assign the brake lever to the NWS again.
Also, for future reference, can you tell me what and where the configuration error is that you found in my pictures?

Ron61
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 23:56
Location: г.Минск
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby Ron61 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 11:01

If you need an additional button that will work from the axis of the brake lever, you can go a very simple way. And do not use the long way, which described the topic starter. Everything is much simpler.
Go to the Profile-Axes-Axes2Buttons tab and do as in the picture. The slider will adjust the zone where our 29 button will work.
Try to move it and understand everything. Do not forget to write it to the controller with the Set button.

A2B.jpg

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 17:42

Thanks a ton for the help Ron, I will try this out when I get home! :D

mikpen14
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:26

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby mikpen14 » Tue Jan 29, 2019 19:18

Worked great Ron!

Its a thing of beauty!


Return to “Manuals and Howtos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests