How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Moderator: AdminGroup

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 339
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 79 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby AeroGator » Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:43

david_wi wrote:What I do with important posts is copy them and make a Word file kept in the same folder where the VKBDevCfg-C and Wizzo files are placed.
Give it a name like How to... and keep it for future needs

David we're collecting the knowledge base like this, too. But I've no illusion: no one is going to read it; why bother reading if it is faster and easier to start a new topic and ask. We're seriously considering creating such an extended HowTo and WhatTheFu^k thing and simply ignoring any questions that had been answered there.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

david_wi
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:38
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby david_wi » Mon Jan 15, 2018 16:53

You are absolutely right and I just added my private Word files(DOCX)
Attachments
Untitled.jpg

Snacko
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 0:24
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to assign a button to the MCG brake lever

Postby Snacko » Wed Jun 06, 2018 0:17

RecklessPrudence wrote:A much easier way of doing this is to use the 'AxesToButton' functionality. Go to axis 8, set it to Edges1, Zone 1, set it to a percentage point that you're comfortable with (ie 25% will press the button when you've pulled the brake lever three-quarters of the way, 0% will press the button only when the lever is pulled completely to the end of its travel), and set it to an unused button. Remember to click the checkbox in the top left to enable the AxesToButton content you customised. Et voila! You have a button! If you are really set on not using the analogue axis of the brake, you can go to the Logical Axes tab and hide the axis. Don't disable it, that will stop your button from working - just hide it from the HID. Tada! You now have a button that activates when you pull the brake, and no analogue axis to confuse your game.

The bonus of this is that you can leave the stick on MCG mode, rather than setting it to Generic as shown up there.


Thanks, that first post didn't work at all. Too bad the OP never posted again to help us make it work..

But your solution worked fine. I'm glad you were here to help!! Thanks!!

I also tried this method to make the POV Hat 4 buttons. It is currently Axis 5 & 6. (I thought it should be 6 & 7 logically, and that threw me for a while..). So, I made the A2B axis 5 & 6 Edges2 with 2 zones and it works! Thanks again!!! :mrgreen:


Return to “Manuals and Howtos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest