How to Calibrate VKB Devices

Moderator: AdminGroup

User avatar
rrohde
Posts: 529
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:28
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Has thanked: 512 times
Been thanked: 199 times

How to Calibrate VKB Devices

Postby rrohde » Thu May 11, 2017 9:17

Run VKBdevCfg (it is recommended to "Run as administrator")

Steps.png


1. From within VKBdevCfg, click on the VKBsim device name to activate it
2. Click the ‘Start Calibr’ button, and then move your joystick's grip to all extents: full left, full right, full forward, full back. For VKB Rudders, depress the left and the right rudder pedal fully; for VKB Gladiators, include the throttle axis.
3. Click the ‘End Calibr’ button.
4. Done!
VKB North America
https://VKBControllers.com

kaschberle
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 14:45

Re: How to Calibrate VKB Devices

Postby kaschberle » Wed May 16, 2018 22:51

Just a quick question: In case automatic calibration doesnt work properly and you do it manually, what does the MPL value actually do in detail? It seems to be used as a multiplier during normalization, thus I am interested whether there are any drawbacks associated in changing it (particualarly increasing it, as this is what I have to do)

User avatar
Victorus
Posts: 1063
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 13:25
Has thanked: 169 times
Been thanked: 142 times

Re: How to Calibrate VKB Devices

Postby Victorus » Thu May 17, 2018 11:48

MPL really is a multiplier during normalization. "MPL Multiplier. Binary multiplier for sensor response normalization.
Value range is 15...+15. Default value for D_MaRS is 9, for analog
sensors— 8." From here http://ftp.vkb-sim.pro/Documentations/controller_2_10_En.pdf.
The following actions I do to calibrate an axis manually.
Set MPL to default value.
Set KdHi and KdLo to 100...130. So when I move grip its response is less then extreme values.
Change BIAS to find centerpoint of axis response 32767 or near)))
Sequentially change KdHi and KdLo to reach extreme values of response, 0 and 65535.
In rare cases change MPL, if needed KdHi and KdLo become too small or too high. They must be roughly about 100. 90...170.

Spyboy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 15:56

Re: How to Calibrate VKB Devices

Postby Spyboy » Tue Jan 15, 2019 22:53

Does VKBdevCfg software replace Wizzo, I have got a new Gladiator Mk2.

Drano
Posts: 81
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:00
Location: USA, East coast
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: How to Calibrate VKB Devices

Postby Drano » Wed Jan 16, 2019 19:19

Think of Wizzo as VKBDevconfig "Lite". You can do some silly things like calibrate and set dead bands with it but for actually programming the stick you need to use VKBDevconfig.

Whatever you do under no circumstances should you use windows to even try to calibrate!
Gunfighter MkI w/MCG-Pro Grip
#10 Cams
#30 Springs
FW:v1.96.1
BDevconfig: v0.89.25
Zbootloader: v1.15

CPU: i7-6700-K
GPU: MSI 1060 6GB GamingX
Mem: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
PSU: Corsair ZX1000
Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
Win7/64


Return to “Manuals and Howtos”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest