Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Moderator: AdminGroup

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 746
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 328 times
Been thanked: 414 times

Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby AeroGator » Thu Dec 19, 2019 5:47

Electric update 1 750.png

Gunfighter 1 seemed impossible to upgrade... till two days ago. Now it IS!
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Outlaw24
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 19:47
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby Outlaw24 » Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:56

Now thats great news, and a nice Christmas present.

Outlaw24
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 19:47
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby Outlaw24 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 17:20

I received my Gunfigher MkI upgrade parts and successfully upgraded my MI to MkIII status with very little difficulty.

User avatar
marcusstratus
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:54
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby marcusstratus » Thu Jan 02, 2020 18:41

OK, I got my Mk1 to Mk3 upgrade parts and it hasn't been as smooth. The grip cable cluster is too short to plug into the new board when mounted like the picture above and the board is also knocking against the new dust cover plate above it. Is this going to take some wire extensions and aluminum grinding?

I see that I could probably get a bit more slack in the cords if I clip the rubber band holding them to the Y-axis cam bearing support. But for the case, the only solution I see is grinding the lid a bit to give clearance for the top screw head of the board.

See image below, should be rotated so desk is parallel to the floor.
Attachments
C5830CBD-03EB-4BC9-B1F8-AC46763924C5.jpeg
Wire too short, and see the upper right corner of board, hits the housing lid.

User avatar
fallout9
Posts: 2389
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 20:37
Has thanked: 119 times
Been thanked: 640 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby fallout9 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 20:07

Hey Marcus, as I mentioned on the Discord few days ago, the procedure for upgrading the GFI is a bit more complicated than GFII, please wait for the video - should be out in the next 24 hours.

User avatar
marcusstratus
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:54
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby marcusstratus » Thu Jan 02, 2020 20:43

Cool beans. I guessss I can wait another day ;)

Outlaw24
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 19:47
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby Outlaw24 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 23:27

marcusstratus wrote:OK, I got my Mk1 to Mk3 upgrade parts and it hasn't been as smooth. The grip cable cluster is too short to plug into the new board when mounted like the picture above and the board is also knocking against the new dust cover plate above it. Is this going to take some wire extensions and aluminum grinding?

I see that I could probably get a bit more slack in the cords if I clip the rubber band holding them to the Y-axis cam bearing support. But for the case, the only solution I see is grinding the lid a bit to give clearance for the top screw head of the board.

See image below, should be rotated so desk is parallel to the floor.

I had the same problem, and thought they had sent me the wrong PCB board. If you look and follow the grip cable you will see a small black band that holding it securly to the axis lever. I removed this band and it will give you enough slack for the cable to reach the connector perfectly, just make sure you use the new cable control p[eice that came with you new PCB.
Last edited by Outlaw24 on Fri Jan 03, 2020 0:34, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
marcusstratus
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:54
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby marcusstratus » Thu Jan 02, 2020 23:34

Yes, that makes sense. Did you get the dust cover as well or just the electronic upgrade?

Outlaw24
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 19:47
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby Outlaw24 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 23:36

marcusstratus wrote:
Outlaw24 wrote:I had the same problem, and thought they had sent me the wrong PCB board. If you look and follow at the grip cable you will see and small black band that holding it securly to the axis lever. I removed this band and it will give you enough slack for the cable to reach the connector perfectly, just make sure you use the new cable control p[eice that came with you new PCB.

Yes, that makes sense. Did you get the dust cover as well or just the electronic upgrade?

Yes, I got the dust cover and the new avaition cams also, all is working great!

User avatar
marcusstratus
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:54
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby marcusstratus » Fri Jan 03, 2020 0:34

OK, what I ended up doing is using the old top plate of the gimbal housing with the new dust cover and the new bolts. The new dust cover also covers the holes from the the previous cover used. So that works.

I tried removing the rubber strap holding the grip cables to the grip post but it's still too tight for my liking. Okay when at center but when I move the grip it pulls them taught.

I'll see what fallout9 shares with his tutorial in regards to this.

Fridge
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 18:41
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby Fridge » Sat Jan 04, 2020 20:16

Hey everyone.

I went through most of the steps to upgrade my Gunfighter Mk.1 base to a Mk.3 but I ran into a problem. My upgrade kit did not include a "M3 blind screw". How can I get one of those?

User avatar
marcusstratus
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:54
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby marcusstratus » Sat Jan 04, 2020 20:21

Mine didn't either. It's an M3 (metric 3mm) set screw. I got the longest I could find in that size at my local hardware store (was about 3/8-1/2" long

Outlaw24
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2016 19:47
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby Outlaw24 » Sat Jan 04, 2020 21:05

This must be a problem with the upgrade kits, I didn't receive one either. Did the M3 you got from the hardware store work?

User avatar
marcusstratus
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:54
Has thanked: 51 times
Been thanked: 21 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby marcusstratus » Sat Jan 04, 2020 21:29

Worked great. Much of the bolts, nuts, washers, etc. Can be had at the hardware store if you lose or strip one.

The M3 screw I got was blackened steel instead of stainless and it didn't protrude past the board like in the first picture in this thread

StandingCow
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 21:42
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 12 times

Re: Gunfighter 1 is now UPGRADEABLE to Gunfighter 3!!

Postby StandingCow » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:44

Same issue, I didn't get the set screw.


Return to “Official announcements”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests