Help: VKB-Sim Gladiator MK2 Pro Comm Error

Moderator: AdminGroup

LUV2FLY

Help: VKB-Sim Gladiator MK2 Pro Comm Error

Postby LUV2FLY » Fri Aug 28, 2020 21:14

Having several recent issues with this joystick. I am a newbie so I may not get all the terminology correct. Bought this VKB-Sim Gladiator MK2 Pro in November of 2019. Everything was working fine until a couple of days ago. I have used the stick successfully on X-Plane and 2020 MSFS on a Windows 10 PC. I noticed a flashing red light on the base. VKB Device Config app tells me that the Z axis is not working at all and I have a 100% communication error. X & Y axis work as well as the buttons.

I thought maybe there was an issue with the firmware. I successfully flashed with the firmware "_Gladiator_Pro_v_99_A.vkb". Initially I wasn't sure which firmware to use (too many choices) but did try "Blackbox_GF_TMW_v1_99_A.vkb" first which failed to load (so that wasn't it).

When I go to the Test Tab, Axis Z is 0 and doesn't move when I twist the stick. I've hit the "Default: button and tried calibrating but alas the Z axis doesn't respond.

In looking through the forum, I did see that someone thought an axis not responding issue could be an internal connection issue. My thought is to open the base and re-seat all the connectors. I also thought I possibly installed the wrong firmware. Maybe the firmware I flashed was for a stick without a z Axis feature.

I'd appreciate any help on this topic...Thanks

2020-08-28_14-10-33.jpg
2020-08-28_14-10-19.jpg
2020-08-28_14-05-29.jpg

Ron61

Re: Help: VKB-Sim Gladiator MK2 Pro Comm Error

Postby Ron61 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 23:25

Apparently, you were flashing with the wrong firmware. Your grip has a twist axis, which means that you need to use the firmware without the Pro prefix in the name. Choose _Gladiator_m1_99 _ *. Vkb. After flashing, you should reset the settings to default with the button in the configurator and re-calibrate all axes.

LUV2FLY