Button Limitation Fix

Moderator: AdminGroup

Monkey Pants

Button Limitation Fix

Postby Monkey Pants » Fri Jun 26, 2020 9:55

Hi There,

Started a new topic for this so others may find it :D

In a previous thread it was noted that there was a fix for button limitation in various games (Elite Dangerous is a ridiculous 32!)

Could someone please explain/point me in the right direction.

Many thanks

MP

Victorus

Re: Button Limitation Fix

Postby Victorus » Fri Jun 26, 2020 15:33

Mapping buttons tp keystrokes. And never think about button number.
Руководство пользователя по контроллерам VKB (VKB controllers User Guide) Ru&En
https://disk.yandex.ru/d/LlqiYtIrIetBOQ

Monkey Pants

Postby Monkey Pants » Fri Jun 26, 2020 19:59

Thanks

Apologies - this is my first attempt at configuration: I have had this joystick for 4 days :)

I have looked under Keyboard Mapping section (5.4) of the User Guide but am none the wiser:

Tried the "Quick logical layer wizard" to change the button to the key press and set/saved but doesn't show up in Notepad when I press the joystick button.

Could someone give an explanation how to map a joystick button on the joystick to activate a keyboard key press please.

Maybe I should have posted in the hopeless noob section :)

Thanks

fallout9

Postby fallout9 » Fri Jun 26, 2020 20:37

Try this:

- activate the keyboard:
1.JPG

-check in button tester which buttons are over 32. For the standard Gladiator K profile those would be buttons A-B-C on the base, so these should get assigned to keyboard in order to get recognized by E:D.

- click on A1 button on your joystick while you're in Profile/Buttons/Physical Buttons chart, with Poll option checked (on the right side): physical button 31 will light up; click on that button. In the new window click on the logical button:
2.JPG

and set it up as Keyboard:
3.JPG

You could assign any key to it, even in combination with Ctrl, Shift, Alt.