Loose In Y Axis

Moderator: AdminGroup

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:49

So my new Gunfighter Mk II with MCG Pro grip is a little losse in the Y axis so if i let the stck go my craft often goes into a slight dive. The X axis is perfect.

Anyone have any ideas? Should i ask for a new spring?

Thanks, Geezer

User avatar
Alex VKB FSC
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 4:20

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Alex VKB FSC » Tue Jun 26, 2018 14:34

Hi Geezer, can you please post a screenshot of VKB JoyTester? Connect the stick, open up the JoyTester and let it run for 10 to 15 seconds, make a screenshot of that view. Link to VKB JoyTester: http://ftp.vkb-sim.pro/Programms/VKB_JoyTester.zip

PS: Don't touch or move the stick whilst you run the JoyTester for a bit.
VKB store in Europe - http://flightsimcontrols.com

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby AeroGator » Thu Jun 28, 2018 5:27

Geezer wrote:So my new Gunfighter Mk II with MCG Pro grip is a little losse in the Y axis

Strictly speaking, HERE http://forum.vkb-sim.pro/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=2762 is where anything should begin.
Please make yourself familiar with the utility soft.
It will take some time but this investment will return to you quite fast.

Please read the post I linked you to. It is important and not just my/our whim.
In addition to what Alex said above, when you are already in Joytester, do the following:
- pull the grip back (towards yourself) to the limit.
- release it (take your hand off it and let it go freely).
- make a screenshot of what the tester window shows.
- repeat the same pushing the grip forward and letting it go, then left, then right.
- resize all screenshots to a max 1000 pixels on longer side.
- post the pictures right here in the thread (no external links to file depositories or attaching archives).

As soon as we see the screenshots we might already know where the problem is sitting.
We may also ask you to take the cover off the base and take a picture of the interior parts, but leave this for next steps, let's first see the screenshots.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:36

Here are screen shots.

Appreciate your help.
Attachments
Capture2.JPG
Capture.JPG

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Thu Jun 28, 2018 6:39

And left and right
Attachments
Capture4.JPG
Capture3.JPG

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby AeroGator » Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:17

:mrgreen:
- pull the grip back (towards yourself) to the limit.
- release it (take your hand off it and let it go freely).
- make a screenshot of what the tester window shows.

- repeat the same pushing the grip forward and letting it go, then left, then right.
- resize all screenshots to a max 1000 pixels on longer side.
- post the pictures right here in the thread (no external links to file depositories or attaching archives).

Thanks!
But what we needed was the screenshot of the signal once you let the grip go. In other words, a snake-like attenuating sinusoidal curve.
It should appear in the upper window of the tester interface.
We also need numerical data (lower windows), but the focus of our interest is the curve.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:26

Yeah not sure why that didnt show up.

Heres some more Pics.
Attachments
Right.JPG
Back.JPG
Forward.JPG

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Thu Jun 28, 2018 12:28

And...
Attachments
Left.JPG

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby AeroGator » Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:54

Geezer wrote:Heres some more Pics.

From the pictures I get a suspicion that

a - the dumper on one of the axes is tuned to be stronger than on another (it is OK but not for now).
So, to begin with, temporarily loosen the tighter dumper.

b - you calibrated the device using Windows tools.
Never do that.
1 - go to Windows calibration.
2 - cancel all calibrations you did in Windows.
3 - use VKB calibration tools to re-calibrate the device.


This may already be enough. In case it is not: To go any further I need full answers to all questions asked in the post I linked you to in the previous conversation.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Fri Jun 29, 2018 6:17

Thanks for your input.

I have never calibrated the stick in windows but i reset it just in case.

The problem persists.

When you say Dumper i assume you mean Damper?

The damper screw is very loose. although i did tighten it after initial setup hoping it might stop the sloppiness of the Y axis.

Honestly just feels like one of the springs is a little too long.


Gunfighter Mk.II

Firmware Version 1.91

Original cams and springs
Attachments
VKB Device Config.JPG

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby AeroGator » Fri Jun 29, 2018 7:52

Wow this is getting more interesting now.
Thanks for more info, we will chew on it.
Back to you later today.

YES it is damper of course. My bad.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby AeroGator » Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:36

Geezer wrote:The problem persists

Sorry the numbers in the attached picture cannot be seen :roll:
too small... you did everything right, as I asked you to keep the picture size smaller, but in this case exception can be made!
Once again, sorry for wasting you time, but when you have a minute please upload a readable picture.
We want to close your case as soon as possible and get you back flying.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Fri Jun 29, 2018 9:13

Bigger Images
Attachments
Capture3.JPG
Capture2.JPG
Capture1.JPG

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 368
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 148 times

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby AeroGator » Fri Jun 29, 2018 10:55

a - the dumper on one of the axes is tuned to be stronger than on another (it is OK but not for now).
So, to begin with, temporarily loosen the tighter dumper.
....
3 - use VKB calibration tools to re-calibrate the device.

...i reset it just in case.

Did you calibrate the device using VKB calibration tools? Y/N
If Y, please in a few words describe how you did it.

The damper screw is very loose. although i did tighten it after initial setup hoping it might stop the sloppiness of the Y axis.

Did you loosen the tighter damper on Y?

The off-center of the axis on the screen only shows that the device has not been calibrated, or has been calibrated in a wrong way.
The latest series of pictures you posted are about the mapping of your buttons, which is interesting but not relevant to the problem.
Let us focus on the curves (the sinusoid) and calibration.

1 - release the damper so that both dampers feel about the same. NOT like when one of them feels tighter than another.
2 - use VKB utility to calibrate the device.

After that, please show me the picture like the one I am attached to this post, AND 4 pictures showing the curves, like you already did before.

Honestly just feels like one of the springs is a little too long.

If it was it would have been filtered out at the assembling line. The probability of such event is merely theoretical, let us leave it as the last resort.
Attachments
calibration.png
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Geezer
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 6:46

Re: Loose In Y Axis

Postby Geezer » Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:26

The calibration is fine, there is free play in the rested state of the Y axis.

The picture i sent you of the Y axis would have a different number every time i release the stick.

Here you see me flicking the stick in the Y axis several times.
Attachments
Capture.JPG


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests