brake lever gunfighter mk II

Moderator: AdminGroup

mikka60
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 20:57
Been thanked: 1 time

brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby mikka60 » Sun Jun 10, 2018 21:03

Hi all, i get my new joy, very smooth and precise. I use it in DCS but the brake lever isnt recognized from the sim. Is necessary to program it from NJoy32 to work? Thx

Drano
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:00
Location: USA, East coast
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby Drano » Mon Jun 11, 2018 0:59

Here's the deal. These sticks aren't like sticks we've all known before. This is a completely different animal! You can't just plug them in, calibrate in windows and go. If you do that you're gonna run into problems like the stick not staying calibrated and things not being recognized (like the brake axis). They're designed to be modular. The base can be used with a number of current and future grips. Consequently you have to flash the firmware to it for your particular combination of base and grip before everything will work.

The manual is on the vkb documentation page. It's extensive, but I suggest you at least skim thru it. Software is on the downloads page. Grab the right firmware for your stick, Zbootloader(flashing utility) and VKBDevconfig(programming utility). Wizzo is an easier way to calibrate but lacks the programming ability.
Gunfighter MkI w/MCG-Pro Grip
#10 Cams
#30 Springs
FW: v1.94E
VKBDevconfig: v0.87.89
Zbootloader: v1. 15

CPU: i7-6700-K
GPU: MSI 1060 6GB GamingX
Mem: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
PSU: Corsair ZX1000
Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
Win7/64

Drano
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 5:00
Location: USA, East coast
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby Drano » Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:07

Cut and paste from one of my other posts. This oughta help :


So you FINALLY got your new VKB Gunfighter! Excellent! Now what?

Once you've assembled the stick as per the quick start guide you're ready to plug in. Before you do that you should download the latest firmware for the stick. There are several as there are several possible combinations of base and grip. Make sure you're grabbing the correct one for your base and grip. Don't confuse Gunfighter with Gladiator or KG12 with MCG. Also download the latest versions of both VKBDevConfig and ZBootloader software from the links in Victorious' post just ahead of this one. Unzip all of those files into a common folder. I put one on my desktop named VKB. Shocking I know! :wink:

OK NOW you can plug in the stick. No special drivers are needed. Windows will find it just fine. But wait---it's not ready to use just yet.

Run VKBDevconfig. in the upper pane click on whatever stick shows up there. It'll be a gunfighter with a factory firmware. THIS ISN'T GONNA WORK FOR YOU so go through the next few steps. On the "Tools" tab click "Default". Then click "Set". Now go through a calibration. Before you begin, on the MCGs, flip the folding trigger up, then down, then squeeze the trigger and let it go to it's neutral position. To start calibration, on the "Tools" tab, click "Start Calibr". You won't get any prompts other than the black box will begin flashing. The procedure for the MCG-Pro (that I have) is:

Move through pitch and roll axii.
Move Master mode (upper middle hat) through it's full range.
Move Gate Control (ministick) through it's full range.
Squeeze brake lever fully and release.
On MCG again, fold trigger up, then down, then full squeeze then let go.
Click "End Calibr"

The stick should now restart with steady lights. Almost there!!

OK NOW your stick is ready to have the proper firmware flashed to it. You should have that firmware in the folder along with your other VKB software. With Devconfig running, on the Tools tab, click "Bootloader". Devconfig should exit. Make wure that it IS CLOSED before proceeding with the flash. Run ZBootloader. You should have a green light saying "boot device detected-OK". Click the button to browse to the new firmware. Once you've selected it, click "flash it". Now the flashing process will begin--only takes a few secs. On my machine it'll get almost through and hang with a "not responding" error. Just close bootloader, it's fine. If Devconfig tries to run close it too. Once both programs are closed, run Devconfig,

OK in the upper pane the new firmware should now be showing with the correct stick setup. Click on that. The buttons will light up. I hate to tell ya this but you're gonna have to go through the process of Defaulting the stick and then re-calibrating as described above. This is SOP every time you might update the firmware. it seems like a lot but once you've done it a couple of times it's no big deal. Once you've done this your stick is at it's base profile. I saved this profile so that I could load it later if need be. Might be a good idea. On the "action" tab click "save". A dialog will come up asking for a name and location. Save the profile to the VKB folder.

All righty then! Your new stick is all ready to be programmed! That didn't hurt a bit did it? Well just wait til you start reading the programming guide for VKBDevconfig!! The latest one is only like 117 pages long! The link to that is also in Victorious' post above. Prepare to go cross eyed reading this. It's not easy to grasp but once you start to get the hang of it you'll see it's really comprehensive. This stick will do stuff I'd have never thought of!

Hope this helps and sorry if I missed something but I think I got it all.
Gunfighter MkI w/MCG-Pro Grip
#10 Cams
#30 Springs
FW: v1.94E
VKBDevconfig: v0.87.89
Zbootloader: v1. 15

CPU: i7-6700-K
GPU: MSI 1060 6GB GamingX
Mem: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
PSU: Corsair ZX1000
Mobo: Asus P8Z68 Deluxe
Win7/64

mikka60
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 20:57
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby mikka60 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:30

thx, i did it. I upgraded firmware. the tester recognizes brake lever, is inside DCS that doesnt work, is like doesnt exists

mikka60
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 20:57
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby mikka60 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:31

by the way, i read the manual... :D

Ron61
Posts: 930
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 23:56
Location: г.Минск
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 173 times

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby Ron61 » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:50

Show the screenshots of the Profile-Common-n-axis-Logical and Physical axes tabs from the configurator.
Screenshots should be done with the Alt key (only the active window will be displayed, not the entire desktop).

Sokol1
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 20:07
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 63 times

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby Sokol1 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:52

mikka60 wrote:thx, i did it. I upgraded firmware. the tester recognizes brake lever, is inside DCS that doesnt work, is like doesnt exists


DCS controls sometimes have difficult to detect axis movement in assignment window for some controllers (e.g. Tm TFRP pedals), in this case just select the axis in drop down menu.

Image

After click in AXES TUNE if want set curves, saturation, etc.
Last edited by Sokol1 on Wed Jun 13, 2018 16:41, edited 3 times in total.

mikka60
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 20:57
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby mikka60 » Tue Jun 12, 2018 15:48

thx very much, i'll try this evening

mikka60
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 20:57
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: brake lever gunfighter mk II

Postby mikka60 » Wed Jun 13, 2018 0:59

:D
it works! Thank you, was a problem of DCS, happened same things with the rudder by Thrustmaster.
Thank you also at others that helped


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests