Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Moderator: AdminGroup

Degorth
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 22:29
Been thanked: 1 time

Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby Degorth » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:34

When attempting to set the MASTER MODE/РЕЖИМ КБО ministick's axis mode from relative to absolute, it stops being able to swap from POV to axis via the push button and instead does both at the same time. Is this intended? Here is a picture of the settings I am attempting to adjust: https://i.imgur.com/fRipqrq.png

I am using my MCG-Pro on a Gunfighter Mk.I running Firmware v1.917, and using VKBDevCfg-C v0.83.85.

RecklessPrudence
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 18:11
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby RecklessPrudence » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:41

I've got the same problem.

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby AeroGator » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:52

Degorth wrote:Here is a picture of the settings I am attempting to adjust

I thought I saw a very similar post already, and also with a link to the image at some 3rd party server... but I might be mistaken. Anyway, please upload the picture to this thread. We can help when we see the problem. (we do not follow external links for different reasons).
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Degorth
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 22:29
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby Degorth » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:57

Right, that's understandable. Here's the picture.
fRipqrq.png

RecklessPrudence
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 18:11
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby RecklessPrudence » Wed Jan 10, 2018 13:17

Hmm... I've got mine on Absolute, but if I change the switch function from Tempo to Alt, then I can click it, use it as a hat, click it again, use it as an analogue stick. It's only when I have it on Tempo that it doesn't switch off the Hat function.

Degorth
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 22:29
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby Degorth » Wed Jan 10, 2018 16:11

I tried that as well, but it only enables/disables the POV. It acts as an axis in either case, meaning it will do both POV and axis or just axis. I can't seem to make it only do axis OR POV when set to absolute.

RecklessPrudence
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2016 18:11
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby RecklessPrudence » Wed Jan 10, 2018 16:48

I'll admit, I haven't fired up a game with it yet - do the games see the axes, or only the VKB software? Also, I switched my hat back to tempo, to get a feel for it, and now it doesn't switch ever. I don't know why, it's all the settings it was before I switched it to Alt - I even changed the axes back to Relative, just in case that was the problem, but it still didn't work.

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 110 times

... but WHY??

Postby AeroGator » Thu Jan 11, 2018 14:15

OK.
Relative mode + push button is what we made it like. We explained why we had done it and why we think this function may come in handy.
Absolute mode + push button... we simply see no possible application for it.
So yes if you choose absolute mode, then the button is untaken/vacant, and you may re-assign it to whatever button you want.

Or, maybe I didn't get your meaning quite as you hoped I would?.
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Degorth
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 22:29
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby Degorth » Thu Jan 11, 2018 15:56

Sorry, maybe I didn't explain it well enough.
With axis set to relative: Master Mode does EITHER axis OR POV, but not both. Holding the push button swaps between the two.
With axis set to absolute: Master Mode does BOTH axis AND POV. Holding the push button disables POV but keeps axis.

What I'm trying to do is have it switch between POV and axis exactly like it does when set to relative, but with absolute instead. Instead when absolute is set, it does both POV and axis at the same time, that is, it inputs both an axis and POV direction at the same time instead of one or the other like when relative is set (POV mode, no axis input/Axis mode, no POV input).

Basically:
Default behavior: POV OR relative axis via Master Mode
Improper behavior: POV AND absolute axis via Master Mode
Desired behavior: POV OR absolute axis via Master Mode

Edit: grammar/clarification

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby AeroGator » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:31

Degorth wrote:Master Mode

While I'm not yet ready to dive into your question, here is something you should hurry to do before anything else.
http://forum.vkb-sim.pro/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=2944#p28993
Best Regards,
AeroGator

Degorth
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 22:29
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Changing Master Mode axis mode to absolute breaks swap functionality

Postby Degorth » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:25

Thanks for the firmware and software update, though the problem still persists. Here's what I'm doing.

From default profile, Master Mode switch acts as POV and uses relative axis when axis mode is activated. I go to the section pictured earlier and set those two values from Rel (relative) to Abs (absolute), which correctly makes that ministick absolute, but breaks the POV/axis switch function.

Would it be possible to fix that or was that never intended?


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests