How to update firmware

Moderator: AdminGroup

acdelta57
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 23:33
Been thanked: 1 time

How to update firmware

Postby acdelta57 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 23:49

Is there anyone out there can tell me how to update the firmware please

VKB gunfighter 2
MCG Pro 3 pin

Only several buttons work

Im on old Firmware 1.85 and downloaded the new frimware file but have no idea what to do with it

Thank you

vanov
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 21:44
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to update firmware

Postby vanov » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:45

1) Download the following (links found via https://vkbcontrollers.com/?page_id=4609)
-- VKBDevCFG-C - http://ftp.vkb-sim.pro/Programms/VKBDev ... 83_8_5.zip
-- ZBootloader-C - http://ftp.vkb-sim.pro/Programms/ZBootloader-C.zip

2) Extract both to the same folder

3) Open VKBDevCfg-C, select device and click Bootloader.
-- That should launch ZBootloader-C

4) Select previously downloaded firmware, and hit flash it.

Quick note: I have a single joystick plugged in and am unsure if it is possible to bypass the VKBDevCfg-C in this process. This just happens to be the order in which I did things, and it worked for me.
Last edited by vanov on Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:57, edited 1 time in total.

acdelta57
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 23:33
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to update firmware

Postby acdelta57 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:55

Thank you, didn't mean to double post I was just in rage type mode sorry lol

I have fumbled around and figured out how to update. I did take my stick apart to find the rattle, I think it was just a loose piece of plastic casing.

My firmware is up to date and the configuartor recognizes the stick. Yay.

Now my problem still persists that no other axis are shown anywhere. Every button works. But no axis on the two "hats" or break handle axis.

Nor is it recognized in any game anywhere. I've followed the calibration to the letter and I can still not get them to be recognized anywhere.

Furthermore I can't seem to find where the axis would even be represented in the configuartor. Under axis test I only have 3. X Y and Z

Is there a special setup I need to do to get these axis displayed?

vanov
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 21:44
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to update firmware

Postby vanov » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:01

Not sure, hopefully somebody else can chime in. Still working through my own configuration issues, but I'll check back and let ya know if I learn anything.

acdelta57
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 23:33
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to update firmware

Postby acdelta57 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:33

Just as an extra token of gratitude vanov you're post is the only one I've seen that explains those steps^

Sincere appreciation good sir

vanov
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 21:44
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to update firmware

Postby vanov » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:40

Ran into the same issue as you once I got my buttons working, been clicking around for a bit and found a solution.

1) Download Wizzo GF - http://ftp.vkb-sim.pro/Programms/wizzo_gf_0_98.zip
2) Click "Advanced Settings" red button on bottom left
3) In popup, select "Default"
-- Selecting Default restarted the Wizzo tool for me, and the analog hats / lever started being detected both in Wizzo GF and in VKBConfig.

After setting "default," hats / lever and button 7 (black button on left side of the stick) all started being detected for me. Not sure if there is a way to do it in VKBConfig, but since this worked for me I stopped looking.

Image

acdelta57
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 23:33
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to update firmware

Postby acdelta57 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:57

And yet again something so simple not instructed anywhere. This worked for me also. I can't tell you how appreciative I am of your response and reaching out to help. Thank you!!!!

TheBigDustin
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 14:56
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: How to update firmware

Postby TheBigDustin » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:39

I keep getting "Device not ready - aborted"

Now what?

acdelta57
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 23:33
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to update firmware

Postby acdelta57 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:56

try unplugging and repolugging the usb into the VKB box, I think that's what I did

User avatar
AeroGator
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed May 31, 2017 7:40
Has thanked: 98 times
Been thanked: 155 times

Re: How to update firmware

Postby AeroGator » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:02

BIG thanks to vanov!
Best Regards,
AeroGator


Return to “Technical Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests