Building a custom grip for a VKB, adding buttons

Moderator: AdminGroup

Silh

Building a custom grip for a VKB, adding buttons

Postby Silh » Sun Jul 31, 2016 19:24

With a Gladiator Pro hopefully arriving in a few days, I've started some more planning with what would be involved with creating a custom (left-hand) grip for it. I was wondering if there was any information available (or is it even possible) to add more buttons with the existing circuitry of the KG12 grip?

I have a Vintage Black Mamba already, using the Warthog adapter + Warthog grip, so I've disassembled the KG12 grip that came with it to have a look, presuming that the grip that comes with the Gladiator Pro will be the same one or similar. I've made custom grips before, so am familiar with working with plastics and soldering, but I know little to nothing about electronics/circuit design.

On the circuit board there's a connector marked 'MaRS', which I presume is for the twist sensor such as in the regular Gladiator (no chance of acquiring a sensor that I could connect to it, is there? Word is that it's a digital protocol so not something you can connect a regular pot or hall sensor to). There are connectors for the 8 existing switches (trigger, thumb, pinky, and 4-way hat). There's also another unused 4-pin connector inside as well.

If unable to expand buttons via the existing board inside the grip, I could always run wires down to the buttons in the base, but it would definitely look a lot cleaner if I didn't have to.

(Also, would I have better luck finding info on the ED or Simhq forums?)

Bourrinopathe

Re: Building a custom grip for a VKB, adding buttons

Postby Bourrinopathe » Tue Aug 02, 2016 10:15

Hi Silh,

It looks like an interesting idea.